Flying Tumbler and IT Carlow - Student Profiles

Flying Tumbler and IT Carlow - Student Profiles
Name:Kira Kamateras 
Kira Kamateras
Hometown:From Port Elizabeth, South Africa but live in Bunclody, Co. Wexford (6 Years)
Course & Year:4th Year BSc Honours Brewing & Distilling
Why I chose my course?
I chose to go into brewing and distilling right after my leaving certificate, as at the time it was a brand-new course that had just been developed. The course is science based and I enjoyed those kinds of subjects and the drink industry is such a strange yet thriving industry and that drew me into applying for the course as I had no idea what I wanted to study. As this is the first full length course in Ireland, I saw the opportunity to become a niche employee and took it.
What am I hoping to get from this project?
From getting involved with this project, I hope to see a greater insight into the distilling side of the industry. I want to be able to see first-hand what the blending and bottling process steps are, as well as see what goes behind the marketing of a new product to both individual and mass buyers. I hope to take away a greater understanding of the processes and gain more skills to use in the future in the working drink industry.
Favourite Whiskey:
Redbreast Lustau


Full Name: Paul Mc Namara 
Paul McNamara
Hometown: Abbeyleix co. Laois is where I live but I am originally from Limerick city and I lived in Fedamore Co. Limerick for a long time.
Course & Year: Brewing and Distilling BSc level 8 honours 4th year.
Why you choose your course: I didn’t do my leaving cert when I was a young lad, so I did it at the age of 40. I knew I wanted to be a scientist and I had the hobby of homebrewing so when this course was shown to me I know I had to do it. 
What are you hoping to get from this project? I am hoping to get experience with this project. I want to set up my own company so this experience will be invaluable. I also like marketing and I have got a level 7 management development, so this project gives me a chance to use the knowledge I gained practically. 
Favourite whiskey: 12-year-old Jameson. 


Full Name: Ben Hodgins
Ben Hodgins
Hometown: Clonakilty 
Course & Year: Brewing and Distilling Year 4
Why you choose your course: I’ve always had an interest in food science and Chemistry since I was in school. As I got older I really liked the image that whiskey put out, kind of high society exclusivity of the product that you’d see in movies. After doing work placements and internships in Middleton Distillery and clonakilty distillery I knew that brewing and distilling was for me. 
What are you hoping to get from this project: I really would like to get some hands on experience working with a company and getting exposure in the industry. I also want the challenge of putting what I’ve learned in my 4 years of college to the test and to finish with a product that I can be proud of saying I was involved with. 
Favourite whiskey: Red Breast 12 year Cask 


Full Name: Anthony Gannon
Anthony Gannon
Hometown: Tullamore, Co Offaly
Course & Year: Level 8 Brewing and Distilling, Year 4
Why you choose your course: I chose to do this course because it seemed interesting and it seemed like something I would enjoy doing
What are you hoping to get from this project: Further insight into the distilling industry
Favourite whiskey: Yellow Spot 12 year old